Admissions Essay #4: Dedication to Education Despite Health Setbacks

Prompt: Tell us anything else you want us to know about yourself that you haven’t had the opportunity to describe elsewhere in the application. Include any special circumstances, experiences, etc. that could influence your admission to the university. (250 words maximum)

Essay: When I was 14 years old I fell seriously ill and I was unable to continue my education in the traditional fashion. I was diagnosed as having a nerve plexus that developed into Chronic Regional Pain Syndrome with seizures. My pain was so intense that I was having three seizures a day and I was unable to even open my eyes on many days. Instead of going to high school for six periods a day, I was only able to attend two classes, three times a week at best for a few years before I ended up leaving the traditional form of high school altogether. The reason there is a small gap in my high school and seminary education is because I did most of my schooling at home using nontraditional methods. I spent many months as an inpatient in several different children’s hospitals and I used the hospital tutoring staff and workbooks to keep my mind alert. When I was released in to the world on my own, I enrolled part time in community college because I have the goal of becoming a broadcast journalist. I have always loved education, and I can’t wait to be able to share it with the world. The reason that I feel this is important to share is because I have a very strong passion not just for broadcast journalism, but for education. I want the admissions staff at BYU to know that I am very dedicated to learning and education.

2 thoughts on “Admissions Essay #4: Dedication to Education Despite Health Setbacks

  1. I know that this is an incredibly important part of who you are as an individual, but this essay (meant to tell them something new about you) is sort of a summary of what you’ve talked about in your other essays.

    I’d choose one or the other: Either use this essay to give a really detailed account of your illness, or describe it in your other essays and use this essay for something new. Maybe your transition into being Morman, etc.

    Even though it’s really important, since the essays are so short, it would be a better use of your time to talk about as many things as possible instead of reiterating this same one.

    They probably won’t break up the essays and have a different person read each one. One person will read through all of them, and then if they need a second opinion, they will pass it on to another person (who will also read all of the essays).

Leave a Reply

